THIS CHILD WILL BE GREAT

I borrowed the title above from Liberian president, Ellen Johnson-Sirleaf’s memoir depicting the remarkable life of Africa’s first woman president. In the thought provoking memoir,she bares it all revealing snippets of her childhood, experiences with abuse, her meteoric rise to power against all odds. By penning down this stirring read, Sirleaf seeks to fan the flame inside everyone that with perseverance and hope,we can change our world.

I decided to start this blog,albeit with alot of apprehension initially. I was afraid to pour out myself; the raw emotions, the pain, the confusion (yes! am still trying to come to terms with it all). But the Lord impressed upon me that my pain is not mine alone. It is meant to encourage and build up; inspire and ignite hope to so many. Pain has led to my purpose;brokenness to my beauty in an endeavor to face my fear and finding my freedom. And i want you to journey with me.

It is exactly 9 months today since the gun man’s bullet fractured my spine. 9 months as a prisoner bound to this wheelchair (which i remind everyday of how much i hate it huh!). It has not been easy, not by a long shot. And i’ll be sharing by the grace of God my checkered experiences on this blog.

But through it all ive learnt many lessons.It is said that there is no education like adversity. Revelation 3:21 encourages us that,”to him who overcomes,I will give the right to sit with me on my throne, just as I overcame and sat down with my father on His throne.”

Life is too precious, do not allow worry run rampant in your life, learn to believe that what does not kill you makes you stronger. Skillful pilots gain their reputation from storms and tempests. Circumstances mean nothing, limitations mean nothing. That’s my philosophy. Because guess what?obstacles are something that we have to overcome,and when all is said and done its where you’re going not where you currently are.

So yes! This child will be great. Am coming out of this bolder, better and unbowed.

But before then my prayer remains, “Lord, make me an instrument of thy peace. Where there is hatred, let me sow love; where there is injury, pardon; where there is doubt, faith; where there is despair, hope; where there is darkness, light; and where there is sadness, joy.” (Francis of Assisi).

Au revoir!

22 thoughts on “THIS CHILD WILL BE GREAT

  1. Jane oh Jane, this is inspiring.
    I can’t help but marvel at how articulately you express your strength and deep faith.
    Unbowed, yes..totally.
    I will be sure to read every one of your pieces for spiritual uplifting, inspiration, motivation and need I say to better my Queen’s language. You are a gifted writer.
    Am glad you have allowed us this opportunity to experience your gift, skill and talent. Thank you and God richly bless you.

    Like

  2. Great gal! I’m proud of you. Its by sharing that God is glorified. It is by sharing our struggles that we put the enemy to shame, to the burning furnance where he belongs. We love you, God loves you!

    Like

  3. So profound. Jane, you are such a gifted and talented writer .I pray that God opens wide doors for you and make you sit with kings as His word promises may it be so in your life.

    Like

  4. So proud of you Jane…you are such a great writer…Joshua prayed for the sun to stand still until they finished the battle and it actually happened…never happened before or since…we are praying for the sun to stand still for you and Gods name will be glorified…keep on keeping on…lots of love

    Like

  5. Great write up and inspirational piece. Keep fanning that flame of lovelyness and you will indeed dine with kings n queens. Kudos for sharing.

    Like

  6. You are an amazing woman of God!! Yes….you are a child of promise and yes…you not only WILL be great but YOU ARE GREAT!!! It is a true honor to know you as a sister in the Lord!! May He take you higher and higher!! Many blessings to you!

    Like

  7. This, “Life is too precious, do not allow worry run rampant in your life, learn to believe that what does not kill you makes you stronger. Skillful pilots gain their reputation from storms and tempests. Circumstances mean nothing, limitations mean nothing. ” is simply beautiful. I am in awe of you old friend. You are in my prayers. God Bless

    Like

  8. Hey Jane. Am proud of you girl,great read,am touched. Am one person who as a Christian really believes in purpose and just as you found yours at the lowest moment in your life. I did too but am coming out stronger than ever before, thank God for his grace. I believe you will conquer too. Praying for you. Isaiah 45:2-3,Psalms 16:11

    Like

  9. Nice piece Great lady! Keep the faith and the Lord will indeed do it for you. Praying for your healing, there in no mountain that is too big for the Lord, your healing is coming.

    Like

  10. A beautiful read.Cant agree with you more….You are great Jane and greatness is beckoning! No wonder the attack….but got is turning it all out for good and he shall be lifted and glorified because of what he has done in your life!
    You are in my prayers.

    Like

Leave a Reply

